great expectations for my wee blog

by whilewebloom

Blogging is about sharing something with others, for the sake of others. I want my blog to help friends, family, and the rest of the world to discover things about themselves, learn new things, grow and change and become better people. There is still a time for stories – but when that time comes, I want them to be useful and meaningful. No more self-indulgence. From now on, this is for you.

The past 4 months have been a complete upheaval of everything I ever knew about food and health. (Okay, so maybe I didn’t have any knowledge that could be upheaved in the first place…) Examples of how this is so:

1. I had never really cooked… anything… at all… prior to March 27, 2013. #embarrassing
2. Aside from a few rare occasions, I have not consumed alcohol since March 27, 2013. (Less than 10 drinks in the past 115 days)
3. I can now tell you more about bowel movements than I can about the Princess Bride. (Some of you might not grasp the full significance of that statement, but trust me – for me, that’s unheard of.)
4. I have been battling something called a Candida (yeast) overgrowth in my body, and on top of that was diagnosed with a parasite called Helicobacter Pylori. You can read about them here and here (oh, and here too). They are the reason for the aforementioned upheaval of life. I have been treating them naturally and determinedly for 4 months.
Ok… I’m out of examples. But those are pretty solid examples of the examples I might have.

What I’m trying to say is, my life has been crazy with the discovery and treatment of these diseases (for lack of a better word). Thankfully, and after many false hopes, I believe I’m finally close to recovery.

I guess the reason I reopened this blog and want to make it more public is because, as a result of all these changes I’ve been going through, I am learning a gazillion new things every day that I want to share with the world. There’s so much that I didn’t know before about health and nutrition, and if I had, I might not have been suffering as I have been for the past 3-4 years. If the world had, maybe we wouldn’t have the cancer epidemic we have today. Maybe my blog can be one little step toward preventing cancer in my friends and family; I certainly hope so.

But it even goes beyond physical health. I am learning about the mind, body, and spirit, how to nourish them and become a happy person. The kind of person who has only positive relationships in their life. This is what I want for myself, and it’s what I want for you, too.

My art is about that. It will continue to be. But my art has always been tied to my writing… so perhaps writing is where I need to start. ❤

overflowing